This may seem surprising to some, but your body needs 20 different amino acids to grow and function properly.

Out of those 20, there are 9 that are considered to be essential. Here’s why: 

9 essential amino acids:

1. Histidine

2. Isoleucine

3. Leucine

4. Lysine

5. Methionine

6. Phenylalanine

7. Threonine

8. Tryptophan 

9. Valine

Essential amino acids cannot be made by your body and must be obtained through your diet or supplementation.

Amino acids, what are they?

Organic compounds that combine to form proteins. Amino acids are often referred to as the building blocks of protein. These compounds play many vital roles in the human body. 

What do they do?

  • Muscle development, repair 
  • Assist with protein synthesis 
  • Tissue repair 
  • Nutrient absorption 


Where do you get them?

The best forms of amino acids are derived from animal proteins like poultry, eggs and meat. Amino acids can also be taken in supplement form as a natural way to boost performance and increase the rate of recovery.  

So what does this all mean?

When you eat protein, it is later broken down into amino acids which are later used in helping the body with processes such as muscle building and regulating immune function.